I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post Reply
User avatar
sunbelt57
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:53 am
My RE system: Outback VFX3648
Classic Lite 150
(2) EG4 48v 100ah LifePower Batteries
Location: Wyoming

I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post by sunbelt57 »

I was using the Classic Status 4 Plus monitoring software to monitor my VFX3648 and I enabled the DHCP and now I can't get to the IP address, nor do I see it anywhere using my IP scanner. I tried cycling the power to no avail. The inverter works fine. I'm using a Classic Lite 150 as the charge controller and the AXS port. I did a firmware update on the classic and now the classic is not working right so now I have to send it back so maybe something happened there. Otherwise, the inverter runs all the appliances ok from the batteries. The IP address was at 192.168.0.64.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 7743
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post by raysun »

sunbelt57 wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 7:47 am I was using the Classic Status 4 Plus monitoring software to monitor my VFX3648 and I enabled the DHCP and now I can't get to the IP address, nor do I see it anywhere using my IP scanner. I tried cycling the power to no avail. The inverter works fine. I'm using a Classic Lite 150 as the charge controller and the AXS port. I did a firmware update on the classic and now the classic is not working right so now I have to send it back so maybe something happened there. Otherwise, the inverter runs all the appliances ok from the batteries. The IP address was at 192.168.0.64.
The inverter doesn't have ethernet capability, but a Mate3 connected to it would. Is that what you are referring to?
User avatar
sunbelt57
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:53 am
My RE system: Outback VFX3648
Classic Lite 150
(2) EG4 48v 100ah LifePower Batteries
Location: Wyoming

Re: I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post by sunbelt57 »

No, I'm going thru the AXS port. It was showing up before as 192.168.0.64.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 7743
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post by raysun »

Oh, right. The AXS port instead of the Mate.

192.168.0.64 is the default address, is it not? DHCP is mentioned. Is the LAN configured 192.168.0.nnn/24?

If the device is not responding to DHCP handshaking, it may need to be reset to factory defaults and reconfigured.

It might be worth setting up a fixed IP address on the AXS to avoid the extra complexities of DHCP causing this type of issue.
User avatar
sunbelt57
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:53 am
My RE system: Outback VFX3648
Classic Lite 150
(2) EG4 48v 100ah LifePower Batteries
Location: Wyoming

Re: I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post by sunbelt57 »

I hate to ask, but, how do I reset the VFX3648 to factory defaults. I couldn't find anything in the manual.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 7743
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: I lost the IP address (VFX3648)

Post by raysun »

sunbelt57 wrote: Wed May 04, 2022 3:26 am I hate to ask, but, how do I reset the VFX3648 to factory defaults. I couldn't find anything in the manual.
Its not the VFX3648. It does not communicate via ethernet, and has no ethernet address.

It is the AXS port that is ethernet enabled and requires an IP address to communicate with non-Outback systems. The data collected from the inverter by the AXS port is passed on to the external monitoring application.


The VFX3648 and AXS port communicate with each other using Outback's proprietary networking protocol. There is an RJ45 port on each device for interconnection. While it looks like the typical ethernet port, it is not ethernet.

The two ports on the AXS cannot be interchanged. Plugging the Outback network port into an ethernet device may damage it.

Double check the physical cabling to the AXS port, to make sure the ethernet port is indeed plugged into an ethernet network.
Post Reply