MAC Address change for new MATE?

Discussion about the OutBack OpticsRE system monitor

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

Post Reply
eesiason
Forum Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason »

I'm swapping out my deceased MATE3 with a MATE3s. Is there no way to update the MATE MAC address on my existing OpticsRE profile? If I am understanding this correctly, I need to create a new profile for the new MATE? If true, seems silly. :-)
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

There's no way to swap Mates from the user interface. Outback I can manually edit the OpticsRE database to link the new Mate3s to the existing profile.

Install it, but DO NOT register it.

Contact OB about the change.
eesiason
Forum Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason »

Thanks. Looks like that will be a bit. New MATE3s has a defective LCD. Grrrrrrrrrrrr.
Attachments
Defective Mate.jpg
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

I'd try updating the firmware (even with the same release) in case its corrupt memory rather than defective LCD.
eesiason
Forum Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason »

Firmware update was worth a shot, tried it, but nope. That strip of the LCD is clearly not energized. Hopefully my reseller can replace it for me and spare me the joy of getting past Outback's support triage that pushes self-installing system owners to the bottom of the callback list.
User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Czar
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
6 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
24 x SimpliPhi 48V,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 6 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
78 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, Radian GS8048A,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
15 x SimpliPhi 48V,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by EA6LE-ONE »

Maybe you could open it and check the connector from the screen if is well plugged in.
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

eesiason wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:09 pm Firmware update was worth a shot, tried it, but nope. That strip of the LCD is clearly not energized. Hopefully my reseller can replace it for me and spare me the joy of getting past Outback's support triage that pushes self-installing system owners to the bottom of the callback list.
When you get the replacement 3s, post back here. One of the OB folks that monitors the forum will likely see it.
eesiason
Forum Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason »

EA6LE-ONE wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:31 pm Maybe you could open it and check the connector from the screen if is well plugged in.
Haha. Only if someone from Outback Tech Support explicitly told me to do that in writing. If it was out of warranty, aka not brand new this week, that would already be done. I'd also be looking at swapping the LCD from the old mate to the new one as I bet there is a good chance they are the same.

Outback TS answered the phone and has set up a replacement to ship. Hopefully. Meanwhile the old MATE3 is in place and working. Sort of. It won't connect to the internet and it does not respond to any program key presses, which seems fairly common. (Tried forcing firmware reload.)
LJT RE Home
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2024 12:22 pm
My RE system: 24V Grid Tied Net Metering. 800aH battery backup. 10k PV; Two GTFX 2524s; Two FM60s: Three FM80s: Mate3s; Hub 10

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by LJT RE Home »

Need OB to update my profile with new MAC address. Just installed new mate3s. Please contact me. 3073434681
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

I hope you get a reply, but Outback's been sold and it appears the tech support staff was let go.
khvi
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2024 3:39 am

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by khvi »

Need same Mate3s mac change to access optics. Is anyone out there from outback?
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

khvi wrote: Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:23 am Need same Mate3s mac change to access optics. Is anyone out there from outback?
Not on this user forum that we've seen. Or on any other communication channel that anyone has reported getting a response.

Others who have run into this put the new Mate on the system and registered it, creating a new OpticsRE site. If the same email address/login is used, both the old (now inactive) and new (now active) instances show up.
The historical data will be separated by the event.
khvi
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2024 3:39 am

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by khvi »

So you are saying buy a new Mate3s and hope it works?
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

khvi wrote: Sat Jul 06, 2024 5:38 pm So you are saying buy a new Mate3s and hope it works?
Not at all. If a new Mate is needed, there's not much choice but buy one.
Presently, there is no Outback support presence to make the "back end" updates to put the new Mate MAC address into the existing OpticsRE account as that of the Mate being replaced. A new OpticsRE site will need to be registered with the new Mate.
The old site and the new site will have the same configuration. They will not, however, be linked in any way. The old site will become static data. The new sites data will commence with its registration.
khvi
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2024 3:39 am

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by khvi »

Thank you for the reply. I should have been clearer. I have an approximately 5 year old Mate3s that i just recently connected to the internet with a cat5 cable when i relocated the router nearby. I had never registered it or used OpticsRE. I set up a new account and when I go to register the Mate3s it stops me at an error message: “MAC address is already registered please try again or contact customer support.

I saw in another thread that someone at outback has to reset the MAC on their end.

Incidentally my mac address starts with 00-90-EA-CA

I also read that all addresses for Mate3s start with 00:90:EA:E0 per this doc:
https://www.outbackpower.com/downloads/ ... p_note.pdf

Any further advice would be highly appreciated.
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

khvi wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 4:32 am Thank you for the reply. I should have been clearer. I have an approximately 5 year old Mate3s that i just recently connected to the internet with a cat5 cable when i relocated the router nearby. I had never registered it or used OpticsRE. I set up a new account and when I go to register the Mate3s it stops me at an error message: “MAC address is already registered please try again or contact customer support.

I saw in another thread that someone at outback has to reset the MAC on their end.

Incidentally my mac address starts with 00-90-EA-CA

I also read that all addresses for Mate3s start with 00:90:EA:E0 per this doc:
https://www.outbackpower.com/downloads/ ... p_note.pdf

Any further advice would be highly appreciated.
Interesting about the MAC address.
So the Mate was previously used?
khvi
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2024 3:39 am

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by khvi »

Not that i know of. I thought i bought it new from a dealer I am still working with to potentially expand my system. They cant get through to tech support either.
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun »

khvi wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 6:04 pm Not that i know of. I thought i bought it new from a dealer I am still working with to potentially expand my system. They cant get through to tech support either.
Tech support doesn't seem to exist at this time.

Where did the dealer get the Mate? It doesn't seem legit.
khvi
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2024 3:39 am

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by khvi »

Clearly. Not sure about this whole outback company association at all. My oil lamps are more reliable.
Post Reply