Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
hurleyinnh
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 21, 2024 8:40 am
My RE system: Pre-wired Radian 4048A w/FM100 AFCI, FLEXmax 100, Flexnet DC, Mate3s, Hub, (12) 305 watt panels, (8) KiloVault 12v AGM two series strings of four 48v

Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Post by hurleyinnh »

Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Did not see a dedicated section for the Hub so figured Mate was closest match.

Looks like I have a dead Hub 10.3, the Mate3s will power up and connect to the FLEXmax 100 Charge Controller when connected direct but not the Hub 10.3.

It is out of warranty and I need to purchase.

A. - Do I need to replace with the Hub 10.3 or can I go with the 4? I have the following connected with no intention to expand the system. (1.) Radian 4048A Inverter, (2.) FLEXmax 100 Charge Controller, (3.) FLEXnet DC, (4.) Mate3s.

B. – Other than the Mate does it matter what ports the other pieces of equipment are plugged into on the Hub 4 (If I can use it in my case)? On the Hub 10.3 the ports are connected as follows (this was a pre-wired set up) (Port 1st Mate)=Mate3s, (Port 1)=4048A, (Port 9)=FLEXmax 100, (Port 10)= FLEXnet DC

C. – Just curios, where does the Hub get the POE from? Is it the FLEXmax 100 since the Mate will power up from that direct. Can any port on the Hub receive the POE?

Thank you for the help!

Jim Hurley
Candia NH
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Post by raysun »

It's actually "PoM" (Power over Modbus) rather than "PoE" (Power over Ethernet). Any Modbus device connected to the battery (inverter, charge controller, FNDC) will power the Hub.
The Hub4 *should* be compatible with the Mate3s, GS4048, FM100, and FNDC. At least, both the 4 and 10.3 are included in the same manual.

Usually the inverter is plugged into Port 1. Others don't matter as much.
hurleyinnh
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 21, 2024 8:40 am
My RE system: Pre-wired Radian 4048A w/FM100 AFCI, FLEXmax 100, Flexnet DC, Mate3s, Hub, (12) 305 watt panels, (8) KiloVault 12v AGM two series strings of four 48v

Re: Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Post by hurleyinnh »

Thank you for the reply, I do appreciate that.

I am trying to check with Outback support also to verify compatibility but the link on the site to open a support case is throwing a 404 error for me.

Cheers!!
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Post by raysun »

hurleyinnh wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 1:43 pm Thank you for the reply, I do appreciate that.

I am trying to check with Outback support also to verify compatibility but the link on the site to open a support case is throwing a 404 error for me.

Cheers!!
Outback was sold in a private equity deal. The first thing out the door was the headquarters, moved to Texas. Next, Tech Support was shut down. In the brief interval before disappearing, Tech Support changed to Warranty Support, so if the system is out of warranty, they might have shunted you to Sales. Sales has shut down as well.

Aloha!
hurleyinnh
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 21, 2024 8:40 am
My RE system: Pre-wired Radian 4048A w/FM100 AFCI, FLEXmax 100, Flexnet DC, Mate3s, Hub, (12) 305 watt panels, (8) KiloVault 12v AGM two series strings of four 48v

Re: Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Post by hurleyinnh »

Thank you again for the detailed response. That was disappointing to hear : (
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 11415
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: Can I replace a Hub 10.3 with a Hub 4?

Post by raysun »

hurleyinnh wrote: Sat Jul 06, 2024 11:23 am Thank you again for the detailed response. That was disappointing to hear : (
To say the least.
Post Reply