Phase loss warning

Discussion about OutBack Inverters in Grid Tie Applications

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 10766
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: Phase loss warning

Post by raysun »

Mike Curran wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 3:21 pm When there's a grid connection your inverters should simply pass through the incoming AC voltage to your loads, without adjusting the voltage that's at the output. But if you're in a grid outage and your FXR is inverting, the output voltage is set through the Mate3s. When you see these high inverter output voltages, are you connected to grid? Because if you are, check the incoming voltage from grid - it should also be high, unless your inverter is doing something it shouldn't with the AC it's passing through. From the Mate3s manual:Screenshot_20240209_181346_Adobe Acrobat.jpg
The weird AC Output that was reported sounds for all the world like a loose neutral in in the main load panel or house circuits.
coswood
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:45 pm
My RE system: 4560 watt PV array - 48V DC system
2 banks (series) of 8 Rolls-Surrette S550 (S6 L16-HC) 500ah 6V batteries
2 FXR 3048A inverters
Hub 10.3 com manager
MATE3s Display / Controller
2 Flexmax FM80 charge controllers
Kohler RDT transfer switch
Honda EB12D 10kw generator

Re: Phase loss warning

Post by coswood »

Thank you all - for your responses and suggestions.
Please forgive my delayed reply - as I have had a death in my family, and am working through all the obligations that come with that.
Right now - I have provided a professional solar technician (currently here- working on this issue) a copy of your responses - to incorporate into his trouble shooting efforts; and will get back to you ASAP.
Thank you.
coswood
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:45 pm
My RE system: 4560 watt PV array - 48V DC system
2 banks (series) of 8 Rolls-Surrette S550 (S6 L16-HC) 500ah 6V batteries
2 FXR 3048A inverters
Hub 10.3 com manager
MATE3s Display / Controller
2 Flexmax FM80 charge controllers
Kohler RDT transfer switch
Honda EB12D 10kw generator

Re: Phase loss warning

Post by coswood »

Gentlemen- after most of the day familiarizing himself with my system, the solar tech was able to resolve my phase loss warning
and high voltage output on the L2 (slave) inverter (preventing it from ever connecting / syncing twith the grid input).
So the L2 slave inverter "AC Input" yellow light would never stop flashing.
On page 36 of the Outback FXR 3048A Inverter INSTALLATION MANUAL (Sep. 2022, Rev. B), it states (bottom - below figure 23) that for a dual stack series stacking configuration, the second inverter must be programmed as "L2 PHASE MASTER", and it must be connected to Port 7.
We went into the Main Menu > Settings > Inverter > Inverter Stacking > Mode.
Correctly selected for Port 1 was "Master"; but selected to Port 7 was "Slave". So it was changed to "L2 Slave Master".
After a short period of time, the L2 inverter "AC Input" yellow flashing light went steady yellow - confirming its recognition / synchronization with the inverter out voltage (as well as the apparent resolution of the phase loss warning, and high AC out voltage).
Y'all are probably shaking your head ... saying - "Well, yeah- of course!" But for us novices, it was a lesson - to read (and double check) all the copious & significant details in the instructions.
So- thank you for all of your input. I hope this can help others to avoid / solve the same problem.
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 10766
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: Phase loss warning

Post by raysun »

That's great the issue was configuration related, and easily resolved!
User avatar
SandyP
Forum Czar
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:44 am
My RE system: 8 x 190W 24V Suntech panels (4 strings of 2) July 2011
4 x 325W 24V Suntech panels (2 strings of 2) added Sept2018
Mate2
Outback FM60 MPPT (max output lowered to 55amps)
12 x 2V Hoppecke GEL 612 Ah C24 - 24V System (June 2011)
Outback VFX3024 Inverter/Charger
Victron BMV-602s
Honda 5.5kW Genset
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Phase loss warning

Post by SandyP »

raysun wrote: Wed Feb 14, 2024 8:09 pm That's great the issue was configuration related, and easily resolved!
And you picked up on the issue in your second post :idea:
-------------------------
http://spwebcam.myddns.me/
coswood
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:45 pm
My RE system: 4560 watt PV array - 48V DC system
2 banks (series) of 8 Rolls-Surrette S550 (S6 L16-HC) 500ah 6V batteries
2 FXR 3048A inverters
Hub 10.3 com manager
MATE3s Display / Controller
2 Flexmax FM80 charge controllers
Kohler RDT transfer switch
Honda EB12D 10kw generator

Re: Phase loss warning

Post by coswood »

Yep.
Thanks, again!
Post Reply