Mate 3 Ethernet Board

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
ForeverHomestead
Forum Whiz
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:58 am
My RE system: Radion 8000w Inverter, Load Center, Mate3, FNDC, Hub 10, Midnight Classic Controller x3, 10 Kw Array, Generac Ecogen, PV Combiner Box x2, Midnight Solar Birdhouse
Location: South Bruce Peninsula, Ontario
Contact:

Mate 3 Ethernet Board

Post by ForeverHomestead »

I have a mate 3 and the ethernet board has gone bad. Everything else works as it should. I use the ethernet to feed info to my smart home, but don't want o spend money when everything else works fine.

My quesdtion is if the ethernet board is it's own board and possible replaceable or is it built into the main board?
raysun
Forum Overlord
Posts: 10394
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01 - Series Stacked, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
6 SimpliPhi 3.8-48 (48v @ 75AH. 450AH total)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
2 Midnite Solar MNPV6 combiners w/20A DC disconnects.
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator
Off-Grid

Re: Mate 3 Ethernet Board

Post by raysun »

ForeverHomestead wrote: Mon Sep 25, 2023 3:34 pm I have a mate 3 and the ethernet board has gone bad. Everything else works as it should. I use the ethernet to feed info to my smart home, but don't want o spend money when everything else works fine.

My quesdtion is if the ethernet board is it's own board and possible replaceable or is it built into the main board?
I think the Ethernet module is a System on Chip with a riser for the RJ45 port. IIRC, the SoC is on the main board.
ForeverHomestead
Forum Whiz
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:58 am
My RE system: Radion 8000w Inverter, Load Center, Mate3, FNDC, Hub 10, Midnight Classic Controller x3, 10 Kw Array, Generac Ecogen, PV Combiner Box x2, Midnight Solar Birdhouse
Location: South Bruce Peninsula, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Mate 3 Ethernet Board

Post by ForeverHomestead »

Oh, so not replaceable. That is a shame
User avatar
intellact
Forum Czar
Posts: 744
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:20 am
My RE system: GVFX 3624 and MATE/MATE3/AXS Port with four Surette flooded lead-acid batteries (24V). Deactivated wind turbine. System now acts as UPS back-up. Monitored by WattPlot, of course.
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mate 3 Ethernet Board

Post by intellact »

For what it's worth, the MATE3 supported three communication protocols:

The default was UDP/IP using a network cable. I presume that is the protocol you were using.

There is also Modbus. It also uses the ethernet chip, but perhaps the Modbus functionality is not affected by whatever issue you are having...? :???:

Finally, there was an optional USB card that could be added to the MATE3. I'm pretty sure they are no longer available :roll: , but perhaps you can find an unused one through the forum?

I'm thinking there is software out there that would convert the more obscure protocols to the one that your smart home needs.
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot
ForeverHomestead
Forum Whiz
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:58 am
My RE system: Radion 8000w Inverter, Load Center, Mate3, FNDC, Hub 10, Midnight Classic Controller x3, 10 Kw Array, Generac Ecogen, PV Combiner Box x2, Midnight Solar Birdhouse
Location: South Bruce Peninsula, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Mate 3 Ethernet Board

Post by ForeverHomestead »

Hello, the mate does not even show on my network anymore so I think none of the protocols will work.
Post Reply