AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Discussion about the OutBack Mate Remote

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

Post Reply
drstrip
Forum Guru
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:32 pm
My RE system: 18 x 160W BP3160 modules
2 x VFX3524
2 x MX 60
Mate/Hub/Trimetric
HUP SolarOne batteries SO-6-85-33/23 - 1690AH@24V http://www.hupsolarone.com/
Kohler 15RYG backup
Location: New Mexico - The land of enchantment and 76% of possible sunshine

AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by drstrip »

On rare occasions I want to cut short a charging cycle. Because everything I've read says it's a really bad idea to shut down a generator under load, I want to shed the loads before hitting Manual Off.
I can set Charger Mode to off, but some fraction of the time when I try to Drop the AC input, the display shows "drop" for a few seconds after I push the button, then quickly returns to "Use".
What's going on and how do I drop the input?
Or is there a better way to terminate the charge cycle early?
BruceS
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 2:33 am
My RE system: Houseboat
6 X 250w X 24V panels ... Outback Inverter 24V X 3Kva (VFX3024E) ... Conext MPPT 60 150 solar controller .... Honda EU6.5i generator (manual start) ... 12 X 2V @ 600Ahr Sonnenschein Batteries ... Shore power facility ... Auto changeover between inverter/shore & genny.
Location: Mannum, Sth Australia, 5238

Re: AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by BruceS »

There is another thread regarding this.
I've experienced this quite often.
I've reverted to manually throwing the main AC inlet circuit breaker if on grid or killing the input from the genny.
If you wait an hour or so you'll find it will drop as commanded. Seems like while it is in max input it won't but once it starts to reduce input as battery charge rises it will. Go figure!!
drstrip
Forum Guru
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:32 pm
My RE system: 18 x 160W BP3160 modules
2 x VFX3524
2 x MX 60
Mate/Hub/Trimetric
HUP SolarOne batteries SO-6-85-33/23 - 1690AH@24V http://www.hupsolarone.com/
Kohler 15RYG backup
Location: New Mexico - The land of enchantment and 76% of possible sunshine

Re: AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by drstrip »

I couldn't find that other post; searched on the term "drop" and nothing relevant appeared (or at least that I noticed). If you have a pointer, that would be great.
Does that thread explain what's happening, or just let me share my misery with others?
Seems like while it is in max input it won't but once it starts to reduce input as battery charge rises it will. Go figure!!
I've tried first turning off the charger, so the input is nowhere near max load - it's just the house loads. Last night when I tried to shut down, the "Using" load showed as 600W, and even that is some sort of phantom, because as soon as the generator shuts down the load will drop to 200W.
I've reverted to manually throwing the main AC inlet circuit breaker if on grid or killing the input from the genny
I'm pure off-grid - the only AC input is the generator. Presumably that big breaker labeled "AC Input Master" will kill the generator input. I'll have to check.
BruceS
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 2:33 am
My RE system: Houseboat
6 X 250w X 24V panels ... Outback Inverter 24V X 3Kva (VFX3024E) ... Conext MPPT 60 150 solar controller .... Honda EU6.5i generator (manual start) ... 12 X 2V @ 600Ahr Sonnenschein Batteries ... Shore power facility ... Auto changeover between inverter/shore & genny.
Location: Mannum, Sth Australia, 5238

Re: AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by BruceS »

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=14410

Not a lot of help though?
drstrip
Forum Guru
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:32 pm
My RE system: 18 x 160W BP3160 modules
2 x VFX3524
2 x MX 60
Mate/Hub/Trimetric
HUP SolarOne batteries SO-6-85-33/23 - 1690AH@24V http://www.hupsolarone.com/
Kohler 15RYG backup
Location: New Mexico - The land of enchantment and 76% of possible sunshine

Re: AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by drstrip »

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=14410

Not a lot of help though?
Not much help, indeed. What's strange is that even knowing the topic title I can't find it with the search function, even typing in the exact name.
provo
Forum Czar
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:34 pm
My RE system: Sixteen Evergreen EC-120
(4 strings, total 1920W)
Eight Rolls S-550 (2 strings, total ~800Ah @ 24V)
One FM80
One VFXR3524A
Hub 10
Mate3s
FNDC and Trimetric
Honda EU3000is generator
Location: Sierra foothills

Re: AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by provo »

Yes, the search function seems even more broken than usual :shock:

I tried a search on "current limit" -- one hit, with "current" highlighted, no "limit" in there!

Update -- now it finds THIS post :lol:
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: AGS won't drop AC input when commanded

Post by raysun »

provo wrote: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:20 am Yes, the search function seems even more broken than usual :shock:

I tried a search on "current limit" -- one hit, with "current" highlighted, no "limit" in there!

Update -- now it finds THIS post :lol:
Interesting. If I go out to the top of the forum index and search for "current limit" there are 1366 (now 1367) results.

A search within a sub-forum returns results only contained there, perhaps?
Screenshot_20210113-114417_Chrome.jpg
Post Reply