Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Discussion about the FM100 AFCI Charge Controller
Post Reply
Tworude
Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:54 pm
My RE system: Outbox Radian FPR-4048A-01
Mate3S
FM100-300VDC-AFCI FLEXmax MPPT Charge Controller 100A 300VDC
MATE3s Communications Controller
HUB10.3 Communications Hub
GSLC-PV1-300VDC Prewired Load Center
FN-DC FLEXnet DC
1 Fortress EFlex 5.4 Lithium, a second one is on the way
6X1 Rec N Peak 320w

Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by Tworude »

I'm 80 miles from the nearest road and the fuse in the fm100 AFCI is gone. I don't get another helicopter in here for 2-3 weeks. I'm totally off grid, is there a way to temporarily bypass the fuse until the helicopter gets here without risking my equipment?
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4580
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by raysun »

By "gone" does that mean the fuse is missing, or that it has opened? If the latter, there was most likely a predicate event that caused it to "blow". It would be important to understand the events leading up to the controller being deactivated.
fcwlp
Forum Czar
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:40 am
My RE system: GS8048A, FM80 w/3,600W PV Fixed, FM80 w/2,700W on Zomeworks tracker, Mate3, 24 Trojan 2V L16 1100AH @ C20, Grid-Tied with Kohler 14RESA LPG Generator and MEP-803 Diesel if needed.

I install and maintain grid-tied and off-grid systems in my area and consult on solar system design/operation.
Location: 80 miles NE of Phoenix at 5500'

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by fcwlp »

The FM100 AFCI has both Ground Fault and Arc Fault protection. Both of these NEC required features are to protect a structure from burning down versus personnel protection. So if the array is on a structure, you want to be careful given your remote location. The fuse is for the Ground Fault portion of the protection.

Most likely the issue is with an array wire that has been cut and grounded to module frame or other grounded structure.

Below is an old document that gives some troubleshooting advice on tracking down ground fault issues.
GFDI Ground Fault Troubleshooting.pdf
(151.15 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
You will have to make some adjustments to the measurement positions as the negative of the PV array in the FM100 AFCI goes to the terminals in the FM100 versus the DC Negative bus bar. This is shown in the file below on page 12 (I had to delete a few pages to meet size limitation.)
FM100 AFCI Wiring Webinar (pages removed).pdf
(1.43 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
Only after you find and fix the ground fault, can you consider a MacGyver solution. The GFDI fuse is 0.75A. Wire sizes in the 30-32 AWG range have approximately the same current rating, see below for details. Good source would be the wires from an old flexible battery cable. Solder to each terminal of the fuse or carefully wrap around each side of the fuse holder, with the PV disconnected.
https://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

For a few laughs, do not go with one of the following options.
Guide to Fuse Replacement.jpg
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4580
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by raysun »

:grin:

I've seen that 2000A slo-blow fuse in action.

Also I was told a shiny copper penny was rated at 93AAC. Not sure about DC, or the zinc alloy fuses.
Tworude
Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:54 pm
My RE system: Outbox Radian FPR-4048A-01
Mate3S
FM100-300VDC-AFCI FLEXmax MPPT Charge Controller 100A 300VDC
MATE3s Communications Controller
HUB10.3 Communications Hub
GSLC-PV1-300VDC Prewired Load Center
FN-DC FLEXnet DC
1 Fortress EFlex 5.4 Lithium, a second one is on the way
6X1 Rec N Peak 320w

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by Tworude »

I do have nails, wrenches and bullets! The fuse is missing. Just put in a new FM100. The array is on a pole 100 feet away. I sure would like to use my solar system while I wait for the helicopter. I really appreciate the help
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4580
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by raysun »

The fuse is literally missing?

There's some QC for you.

I guess the 30ga wire McGuyver approach would be the best of a bad situation.

I've never seen the fuse in question. Is it possible it worked loose and fell into the chassis somehow?
Tworude
Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:54 pm
My RE system: Outbox Radian FPR-4048A-01
Mate3S
FM100-300VDC-AFCI FLEXmax MPPT Charge Controller 100A 300VDC
MATE3s Communications Controller
HUB10.3 Communications Hub
GSLC-PV1-300VDC Prewired Load Center
FN-DC FLEXnet DC
1 Fortress EFlex 5.4 Lithium, a second one is on the way
6X1 Rec N Peak 320w

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by Tworude »

There is a possibility that someone will pick one up in town tomorrow and do an air drop on Wednesday. If I'm sure that I won't hurt the equipment I'll put in a temporary bridge. Breakup is a tough time, 5-6 weeks of isolation except for helicopters.
sbrownian
Forum Czar
Posts: 538
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by sbrownian »

Out of Trebuchet range, eh?
Information, you get not; if incorrect question, you ask..
JRHill
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1519
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:12 am
My RE system: VFXR3648, FM80, 3k panels, Mate3s, FNDC, 4ea 3.8 PHIs. EU7000is AGS.
Location: PNW
Contact:

Re: Bypass 600v Ground Fault fuse

Post by JRHill »

sbrownian wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:44 pm Out of Trebuchet range, eh?
Gosh that's funny and memories. My 2nd son was at Pacific Lutheran U finishing a Mech Eng program. The team built a Trebuchet for their senior project. And for those that remember, with the pictures and arrows and diagrams from Arlo Guthrie days, plus all the calculations of range. They had to make arrangements with campus security to work with it. City police got involved too. I recall that the biggest PITB was to fix the divots in the soccer field. I believe the unit is in their museum of crazy things students have done. He later went on to get a BS in Physics and MS in SW eng from Columbia.

Trebuchets are cool devices. But they don't work well in trees.
Post Reply