Battery Monitor issue

A place where users can meetup with other FlexPower One users and can find support for one another. A great place for people who have not purchased the FlexPower One yet to look up information.
Post Reply
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

Just got this thing set up, but its telling me batteries are 100 percent and there not its also telling me voltage is 49.6, I have 12 12v 100amh agm in a 48v bank set up. any help on this. I went through the wizard and all seems normal.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

and this is every monitor from the mate screen saying 100 percent to the battery monitor on the side lighting up all the way to the green light
Mike Curran
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2278
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
My RE system: Outback - Garage roof:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one FM80 (2007/2020 - replaced MX60)
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80 (2017)
- 2 grid-tied VFXR3524A-01's series stacked, replaced GVFX's (2020)
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah (2007)
- Hub10.3, Mate3s, FNDC, RTS. Tigo ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar - Barn roof: (2012)
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied

Outback Skybox - Barn roof: (2019)
- 14 Talesun 275W in series (DC array input to SB inverter/charger)
- 3 SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries, 48V, 225Ah total
- AC coupled input from 14 Talesun 275W, Enphase M215 microinverters

All self-designed and self-installed
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by Mike Curran »

wpmaura wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 4:41 am and this is every monitor from the mate screen saying 100 percent to the battery monitor on the side lighting up all the way to the green light
The battery monitor on the side I'm assuming is a FlexnetDC. If so, it is what's telling the rest of your system what the SOC is, and it won't be accurate until you first fully charge your battery, then when you're sure that it really is full (btw, voltage is NOT a good indicator of SOC for lead acid batteries, if that's what you have), then you must unplug the LAN cable between it and the rest of your system to "reset" it for an accurate 100% SOC indication.

It will be difficult for anyone to give you more detailed advice without you first specifying the details of your system, especially the battery specs, but also the exact components in it.
https://smart.tigoenergy.com/p/pZXn7SZQyO45?date=2021-04-19
https://enlighten.enphaseenergy.com/public/systems/Hctc107221
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

https://www.renogy.com/deep-cycle-agm-b ... olt-100ah/

I am fairly certain its those before renogy slaps there name to them
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

The FlexNet DC is a "current counting" battery monitor. It tracks State of Charge (SoC) by tracking charge flowing into and out of the battery. Tracking current is the only practical method for determining SoC in an AGM battery as electrolyte specific gravity cannot be measured as with a flooded battery, and voltage to SoC correlations are essentially meaningless when a battery is under load.

In order for FNDC to track Charge accurately, it must know five things:
• Nominal battery capacity in Amp Hours, typically at the C20 rate;
• Charged Voltage when the battery is full, for a 48V battery, typically set at 0.4V less than the Absorb voltage;
• Charged Time that the battery is held at the Charged Voltage, 3 minutes works for the typical AGM battery;
• Charged Return Amps, the minimum current the battery will accept when at the end of the Absorb phase of the charge cycle;
• Battery charging efficiency (Charge Factor), the amount of charging current the battery stored relative to the total current supplied. Typically in the 95% range for a new AGM battery.

Those specifications come from the battery manufacturer and are programmed into the FNDC via the Mate. If the manufacturer does not provide the parameters, they must be determined experimentally.
Screenshot_20200410-044014_Chrome.jpg
FNDC parameters in OpticsRE

Before the FNDC can track charge/discharge properly, the battery must be fully charged. The manufacturer typically specifies charging procedures for commissioning the battery.

Also the Absorb Voltage, Absorb Time, and Float voltage must be set to spec in order for the battery to be charged properly.

Once the battery is fully charged, the FNDC can be reset by unplugging it from the Hub and plugging it back in. Whenever the FNDC is reset, it assumes the battery is at 100% SoC.

There's an old, but still very useful document kicking around titled: The Seven Steps to Highly Efficient
FLEXnet DC (FN-DC) Programming for the “Traditional Mate”. Search for it on the Internet and download.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

not sure how to find absorb rate have something called cycle usage which is 14.4 14.8 but will lood for that pdf
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

wpmaura wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:34 am not sure how to find absorb rate have something called cycle usage which is 14.4 14.8 but will lood for that pdf
Not sure what "Absorb Rate" means, or how it would relate to a Voltage range of 14.4 - 14.8. Perhaps you can upload the relevant text from the battery manual?
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

https://www.renogy.com/deep-cycle-agm-b ... olt-100ah/

thats the link pdf is to large to upload and I am at dial up internet speeds because of world wide shut down. but i dont see anything on there called absorb rate

I have found out that 51.2v is what the batteries would read at full charge.

charge return amps I belive is going to be 6 with my system, and battery bank is 300amh as its parrelled 3 times.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

wpmaura wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:01 pm https://www.renogy.com/deep-cycle-agm-b ... olt-100ah/

thats the link pdf is to large to upload and I am at dial up internet speeds because of world wide shut down. but i dont see anything on there called absorb rate

I have found out that 51.2v is what the batteries would read at full charge.

charge return amps I belive is going to be 6 with my system, and battery bank is 300amh as its parrelled 3 times.
I'm not sure how to read the Renology specs.

I'm assuming they recommend Absorb at 2.45V / call (58.6V) but that sounds a little "hot" to me. Their lower 2.40V (57.6V), is more common for AGM.

I'd "spitball" the Absorb time at 2 hr. then check charging current.

If connected to OpticsRE then clicking the battery icon does a decent job showing the differential current.
Screenshot_20200410-122753_Chrome.jpg
Connecting to the web server in the Mate will show net charge current as well.

If neither of the above are available, temporarily shut off the Inverter (and any other load on the battery) the charging current will be easier to discern from reading the charge controller Out Amps.
Mike Curran
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2278
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
My RE system: Outback - Garage roof:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one FM80 (2007/2020 - replaced MX60)
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80 (2017)
- 2 grid-tied VFXR3524A-01's series stacked, replaced GVFX's (2020)
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah (2007)
- Hub10.3, Mate3s, FNDC, RTS. Tigo ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar - Barn roof: (2012)
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied

Outback Skybox - Barn roof: (2019)
- 14 Talesun 275W in series (DC array input to SB inverter/charger)
- 3 SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries, 48V, 225Ah total
- AC coupled input from 14 Talesun 275W, Enphase M215 microinverters

All self-designed and self-installed
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by Mike Curran »

FWIW, here's a better link for this battery's specs: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source= ... 93xTtkCQYZ
https://smart.tigoenergy.com/p/pZXn7SZQyO45?date=2021-04-19
https://enlighten.enphaseenergy.com/public/systems/Hctc107221
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

Mike Curran wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:01 pm FWIW, here's a better link for this battery's specs: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source= ... 93xTtkCQYZ
Two things have me scratching my head (without touching my face, of course.)
Screenshot_20200410-141902_Drive.jpg
The statement on line three claims charge efficiency from 90% - 67%. I guess over the whole cycle life. So 90% in the FNDC setting to start.
Screenshot_20200410-141828_Drive.jpg
Can anyone interpret this chart? (If you can, just say "yes").
fcwlp
Forum Czar
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:40 am
My RE system: GS8048A, FM80 w/3,600W PV Fixed, FM80 w/2,700W on Zomeworks tracker, Mate3, 24 Trojan 2V L16 1100AH @ C20, Grid-Tied with Kohler 14RESA LPG Generator and MEP-803 Diesel if needed.

I install and maintain grid-tied and off-grid systems in my area and consult on solar system design/operation.
Location: 80 miles NE of Phoenix at 5500'

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by fcwlp »

raysun wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:26 pm Can anyone interpret this chart? (If you can, just say "yes").
No. I think, more than one thing got lost in translation.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

fcwlp wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:59 pm
raysun wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:26 pm Can anyone interpret this chart? (If you can, just say "yes").
No. I think, more than one thing got lost in translation.
I was going to say something like that. Well, it was kind if like that.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

No joy everymorning says 100 percent, got to be missing something
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

I still have this issue. But I have internet now so while looking at flex netnstatsni notice it says power coming in. Is that the power it takes to run flex net? Because its 5am theres no light.
Attachments
Screenshot_20201021-050548_Chrome.jpg
SandyP
Forum Guru
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:44 am
My RE system: 8 x 190W 24V Suntech panels (4 strings of 2) July 2011
4 x 325W 24V Suntech panels (2 strings of 2) added Sept2018
Mate2
Outback FM60 MPPT (max output lowered to 55amps)
12 x 2V Hoppecke GEL 612 Ah C24 - 24V System (June 2011)
Outback VFX3024 Inverter/Charger
Victron BMV-602s
Honda 5.5kW Genset
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by SandyP »

raysun wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:26 pm
Screenshot_20200410-141828_Drive.jpg
Can anyone interpret this chart? (If you can, just say "yes").
Yes.
Charge Volts
Charge Volts
Charge Capacity
Charge Capacity
Charge Current
Charge Current
-------------------------
http://spwebcam.myddns.me/
User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Czar
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
6 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 6 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
78 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, Radian GS8048A,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by EA6LE-ONE »

wpmaura wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:11 am I still have this issue. But I have internet now so while looking at flex netnstatsni notice it says power coming in. Is that the power it takes to run flex net? Because its 5am theres no light.
If power is going in to battery while no solar in and inverter is not charging then you might have the shunts wired wrong.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

EA6LE-ONE wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 6:33 am
wpmaura wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:11 am I still have this issue. But I have internet now so while looking at flex netnstatsni notice it says power coming in. Is that the power it takes to run flex net? Because its 5am theres no light.
If power is going in to battery while no solar in and inverter is not charging then you might have the shunts wired wrong.
First off I didnt fire anything :) I bought it this way. Its why I added the screen shot, it says only .01kw input current, but I am wondering is the input to run flexnetdc, I dont know. waiting for this entire covid fiasco to blow over to so the guy who set this stuff up come come look at it at the same time I upgrade everything. Everything else runs great.

Although I am wondering now also if I need to update the firmware to everything.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

wpmaura wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 11:38 am
EA6LE-ONE wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 6:33 am
wpmaura wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:11 am I still have this issue. But I have internet now so while looking at flex netnstatsni notice it says power coming in. Is that the power it takes to run flex net? Because its 5am theres no light.
If power is going in to battery while no solar in and inverter is not charging then you might have the shunts wired wrong.
First off I didnt fire anything :) I bought it this way. Its why I added the screen shot, it says only .01kw input current, but I am wondering is the input to run flexnetdc, I dont know. waiting for this entire covid fiasco to blow over to so the guy who set this stuff up come come look at it at the same time I upgrade everything. Everything else runs great.

Although I am wondering now also if I need to update the firmware to everything.
That 0.1A (100ma) current shows up quite frequently in our systems. It is well within the "noise floor" of the electronics, and the measuring precision of the equipment and Optics reporting.

IME its of no consequence and can be ignored.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

Hmm but shouldnt I see some type of power going out?
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by raysun »

wpmaura wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 4:40 pm Hmm but shouldnt I see some type of power going out?
You mean because of a 100mA reading? I doubt there was any true power being generated, just display error.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

So this issue is solved. There were 2 negative terminals I could connectted the negative battery wire too. The empty one. Or or the one with a white wire attached. Well I had chosen the empty one. The wrong one. Hey I am natural blonde living on 5 hrs of sleep.

All is good.

Knowing is half the battle and now I know.
User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Czar
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
6 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 6 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
78 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, Radian GS8048A,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by EA6LE-ONE »

I am glad that you find the problem.
I think that if you chose to install your own solar equipment or want to manage one already installed you should understand what each component does and how should be wired with the other components. Very important will be the starting and shut down sequence to know it by heart or write it down, just in case.
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Re: Battery Monitor issue

Post by wpmaura »

I have that tapped up in the room, but I have been doing a lot of trial and error not so much by choice. 2 things I am glad about, Rolls Battery and Outback good lord the custumer spport of these 2 companies for me has been outstanding.
Post Reply