are battery required

Dual Input, 120/240, stainless steel form factor design for unsurpassed surge capability
Post Reply
vtwin100@gmail.com
Forum Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:29 am
My RE system: system 1= gs8048, flex max 80 controller, 4K solar, hub 4 mate3

system 2= GVFX3524, 3.5k solar, flex max 80 and mx 60 controller, hub 4 and mate.
storage for both flooded led acid.

are battery required

Post by vtwin100@gmail.com »

we have a GS8048 connected to grid and solar, no battery's as of the moment. Can I power up sell solar without batteries?
User avatar
Greg T Fordan
OutBack Technical Service
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:56 pm
My RE system: Radian, FM80, FNDC, 48V batt bank

Re: are battery required

Post by Greg T Fordan »

No. Outback inverters (except Skybox) are battery based inverters, meaning battery is needed to make them operational, including sell function.
By the way, how is the inverter connected to solar? There is no direct connection from mentioned inverter type to solar.
Greg T Fordan
EngTech
Outback Power Technologies
vtwin100@gmail.com
Forum Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:29 am
My RE system: system 1= gs8048, flex max 80 controller, 4K solar, hub 4 mate3

system 2= GVFX3524, 3.5k solar, flex max 80 and mx 60 controller, hub 4 and mate.
storage for both flooded led acid.

Re: are battery required

Post by vtwin100@gmail.com »

No, so I don't need batteries? Using flex 80 with 4k in panels. Or no don't start with out batteries.
Thanks
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: are battery required

Post by sbrownian »

Perhaps filling out your equipment profile will shed some light on what you have..

(And you have to have batteries. 48 volts worth.)
Last edited by sbrownian on Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Greg T Fordan
OutBack Technical Service
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:56 pm
My RE system: Radian, FM80, FNDC, 48V batt bank

Re: are battery required

Post by Greg T Fordan »

vt,
I was answering your question "can I power up sell solar without batteries?"
The answer is NO. YOU NEED batteries.
On your FM80, it needs a battery too.
Greg T Fordan
EngTech
Outback Power Technologies
vtwin100@gmail.com
Forum Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:29 am
My RE system: system 1= gs8048, flex max 80 controller, 4K solar, hub 4 mate3

system 2= GVFX3524, 3.5k solar, flex max 80 and mx 60 controller, hub 4 and mate.
storage for both flooded led acid.

Re: are battery required

Post by vtwin100@gmail.com »

That's what I always thought. A solar guy told me it didn't have to have battery. Thanks for clearing it
sodamo
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: are battery required

Post by sodamo »

Extra credit for Greg answering twice 🤙🤙🤙
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: are battery required

Post by sbrownian »

vtwin100@gmail.com wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:40 pm That's what I always thought. A solar guy told me it didn't have to have battery. Thanks for clearing it
Run, don't walk away from that 'solar guy..'
sodamo
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: are battery required

Post by sodamo »

Wonder if solar guy hooked up the FM 80’s without the batteries?
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: are battery required

Post by sbrownian »

Probably builds 'infinte energy' machines, too.. :shock:
User avatar
Greg T Fordan
OutBack Technical Service
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:56 pm
My RE system: Radian, FM80, FNDC, 48V batt bank

Re: are battery required

Post by Greg T Fordan »

sbrownian wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 4:37 pm Run, don't walk away from that 'solar guy..'
In fairness to the "solar guy", his knowledge of inverters maybe limited to grid-tie inverters, or as Outback call it now, Grid Dependent inverters which do not require batteries to function, but useless during grid outage. Examples - Sunny Boy, SolarEdge, SMA, microinverters.
Greg T Fordan
EngTech
Outback Power Technologies
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: are battery required

Post by sbrownian »

Greg T Fordan wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 8:34 am
sbrownian wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 4:37 pm Run, don't walk away from that 'solar guy..'
In fairness to the "solar guy", his knowledge of inverters maybe limited to grid-tie inverters, or as Outback call it now, Grid Dependent inverters which do not require batteries to function, but useless during grid outage. Examples - Sunny Boy, SolarEdge, SMA, microinverters.
Eh, I suppose... Ok.

Personally, I would never buy panels with integrated micro inverters, for just that reason..
provo
Forum Czar
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:34 pm
My RE system: Sixteen Evergreen EC-120
(4 strings, total 1920W)
Eight Rolls S-550 (2 strings, total ~800Ah @ 24V)
One FM80
One VFXR3524A
Hub 10
Mate3s
FNDC and Trimetric
Honda EU3000is generator
Location: Sierra foothills

Re: are battery required

Post by provo »

sbrownian wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 9:00 am
Personally, I would never buy panels with integrated micro inverters, for just that reason..
My friend with a Tesla system (2 Powerwalls and a Backup Gateway) uses Enphase microinverters on his panels and apparently can continue to charge his Powerwall from the panels (and of course run house loads) in a grid outage. Maybe the limitation isn't as severe as it used to be...
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: are battery required

Post by sbrownian »

provo wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 10:12 am
sbrownian wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 9:00 am
Personally, I would never buy panels with integrated micro inverters, for just that reason..
My friend with a Tesla system (2 Powerwalls and a Backup Gateway) uses Enphase microinverters on his panels and apparently can continue to charge his Powerwall from the panels (and of course run house loads) in a grid outage. Maybe the limitation isn't as severe as it used to be...
Sounds likely. The systems I've looked at were directly grid tied, with no battery/powerwall on them.

Lose the grid, -poof- no more solar.

Not familiar with what is in the Powerwall, (inverter type, etc.) but I'd be willing to bet the Enphase 'sees' the Powerwall output as 'grid' and continues to sync to it.
Post Reply