Firmware updates

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
Mike Curran
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2278
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
My RE system: Outback - Garage roof:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one FM80 (2007/2020 - replaced MX60)
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80 (2017)
- 2 grid-tied VFXR3524A-01's series stacked, replaced GVFX's (2020)
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah (2007)
- Hub10.3, Mate3s, FNDC, RTS. Tigo ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar - Barn roof: (2012)
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied

Outback Skybox - Barn roof: (2019)
- 14 Talesun 275W in series (DC array input to SB inverter/charger)
- 3 SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries, 48V, 225Ah total
- AC coupled input from 14 Talesun 275W, Enphase M215 microinverters

All self-designed and self-installed
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Firmware updates

Post by Mike Curran »

I'm running 1.4.2, but I'm reading other posts referencing 1.4.6, so I'm 3 gens behind. Just wondering how are others keeping up with the latest release? Is it a matter of looking at OB's website every other day, or what?

This post would apply to other OB equipment with field upgradable firmware as well. Thanks.
https://smart.tigoenergy.com/p/pZXn7SZQyO45?date=2021-04-19
https://enlighten.enphaseenergy.com/public/systems/Hctc107221
pss
Forum Czar
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system: 8330 watts in three strings, Flexmax 60 x 3, Radian 8048A, GSLC load center, Mate 3S, Hub 10.3, FN-DC and 900 Amp, 48V Trojan T105-RE battery bank.

Re: Firmware updates

Post by pss »

I look at the forum posts and posted firmware.
I believe 1.45 was problematic for me and 1.46 running smoothly.
User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Czar
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
6 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 6 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
78 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, Radian GS8048A,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: Firmware updates

Post by EA6LE-ONE »

I 2nd this, 1.4.6 is working fine. 1.4.5 worked fine for like 2 months until it didn't.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Firmware updates

Post by raysun »

I must use a really small selection from the feature set. I don't think (other than ethernet disconnection issues) I ever went looking for a firmware update until someone mentioned there was one.

(Checks his Mate firmware.) Yikes! I'm on 1.4.5! Time to crack out the laptop and prepare an update.
ralphday224
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Firmware updates

Post by ralphday224 »

This is one of those "if it's not broke, don't fix it" subjects. I've never done a firmware update on any of my Outback or Midnitesolar equipment. No problems? No updates. No updates? No problems. Maybe I've been tainted by Windows 10 updating all the time and screwey things happening afterwards...until the next update.

Ralph
pss
Forum Czar
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system: 8330 watts in three strings, Flexmax 60 x 3, Radian 8048A, GSLC load center, Mate 3S, Hub 10.3, FN-DC and 900 Amp, 48V Trojan T105-RE battery bank.

Re: Firmware updates

Post by pss »

Ralph,
Basically when users start configuring their systems in more complex ways to account for time of use pricing, grid management, changing sell rules, lithium batteries, different generators, etc., the firmware needs to be enhanced and updated to make these new complexities function smoothly and for Optics to make use of newer hardware too.
So if your system is chugging along, great, but if your system has a lot of complexities in the daily function, then current firmware is advised.
ralphday224
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Firmware updates

Post by ralphday224 »

HBX most of the time (utility power available), manually trip to float, bulk or eq if required. Really a simple setup with a quick trip to the basement to monitor everything. I spend too much time in front of a screen anyway, if my systems were available on my laptop I'd never get anything done.

Ralph
ralphday224
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Firmware updates

Post by ralphday224 »

So now I understand why. Thanks
Post Reply