Mate 3s connection

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
staggley
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:20 am
My RE system: Radian 8048 2/ Flexmax80 GS load center Mate 3s 2/ KiloVault Habs

Mate 3s connection

Post by staggley »

Good day is it possible to connect the mate 3s using a Alcatel Linkzone portable hotspot and if so what would I need to do it, thanks for any help I am to old to be computer savvy.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 5623
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by raysun »

staggley wrote: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:36 am Good day is it possible to connect the mate 3s using a Alcatel Linkzone portable hotspot and if so what would I need to do it, thanks for any help I am to old to be computer savvy.
Its *possible*, but is going to take some more equipment and a fair amount of configuring.

The Linkzone is a WiFi Hotspot - devices like laptops, smart phones, etc. connect to it wirelessly.

The Mate is designed for wired ethernet only (it has no WiFi capabilities.)

In order to connect to the Hotspot, WiFi capabilities must be added to the Mate. The usual way to do this is with a device generally called an "ethernet to wifi adapter". These are becoming increasingly rare devices, but here's an example: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0118SPFCK/re ... UTF8&psc=1

I've not used the above, so have no insight as to its quality.

Once the adapter is hooked up to the Mate, it should be able to connect to the Hotspot and you should be good to go. The exact method to make the connection will take a bit of configuring.
User avatar
RealityRipple
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2021 7:43 am
My RE system: Radian GS8048A-01
GSLC175-PV-120/240
FLEXmax 80 (2x)
Sharp ND-L3EJE 123W Panel (21x)
PHI-3.8-48 Battery (4x, 2 -60, 2 -M)
Kohler 12RES Generator
MATE3
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by RealityRipple »

Wireless repeaters/range extenders with ethernet ports are cheaper than strict adapters these days and do the same thing plus improve your signal strength, just FYI.
My name is Andy
I write software
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 5623
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by raysun »

Good point. Something like this could possibly work: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014YN7LVE/re ... UTF8&psc=1
staggley
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:20 am
My RE system: Radian 8048 2/ Flexmax80 GS load center Mate 3s 2/ KiloVault Habs

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by staggley »

:razz: Thanks guys got the last choice works great easy install
Allen
Forum Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:02 pm
My RE system: Mate3s
3 GVFX3648
4 FM60
10kw array
440 ah battery

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by Allen »

I'm using a TPLINK repeater (converts wifi to ethernet). BUT it does not enable the MATE3s to connect to Opticsre, even though I've tested this link with my laptop and found an acceptable connection to the internet (no drops, low latency) and have not had any issue connecting to any other web site (with my laptop). I did test the Mate with a long cat 6 cable and found the Mate to connect over the ethernet link. Something special about the netgear extender?
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 5623
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A-01, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by raysun »

Allen wrote: Sat Jul 24, 2021 12:20 pm I'm using a TPLINK repeater (converts wifi to ethernet). BUT it does not enable the MATE3s to connect to Opticsre, even though I've tested this link with my laptop and found an acceptable connection to the internet (no drops, low latency) and have not had any issue connecting to any other web site (with my laptop). I did test the Mate with a long cat 6 cable and found the Mate to connect over the ethernet link. Something special about the netgear extender?
Is the Mate set up to use DHCP? Perhaps the extender isn't passing the protocol. Perhaps disabling DHCP and manually configuring the network parameters may work.
Allen
Forum Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:02 pm
My RE system: Mate3s
3 GVFX3648
4 FM60
10kw array
440 ah battery

Re: Mate 3s connection

Post by Allen »

Problem was resolved. Not clear how however.
Post Reply