Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
Ron J
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm
My RE system: GS8048A (Mini Grid mode), GSLC175-AC 120/240, 1200 AH flooded L.A. 48V single string forklift battery, 13KW PV, 3 Midnite Classics, 7KW Honda inverter generator.
Location: Manhattan KS

Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by Ron J »

Hi gang! I have a Mate3 running FW 003.015.000 attached to a GS8048A. This setup is four years old and I'd like to get some advise regarding the granularity of the displayed DC voltages. The Mate displays DC voltages in .4 volt increments, vs. .1 volts. This makes it interesting in setting accurate DC functions. I'm considering updating the FW in hopes this will solve this issue. Comments?
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by sbrownian »

Firmware 003.019.001 reads DC volts in tenths on the GS8048 system I help out with.

I don't remember if an earlier firmware had a granularity of .4 or not...
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4104
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by raysun »

Ron J wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:05 pm Hi gang! I have a Mate3 running FW 003.015.000 attached to a GS8048A. This setup is four years old and I'd like to get some advise regarding the granularity of the displayed DC voltages. The Mate displays DC voltages in .4 volt increments, vs. .1 volts. This makes it interesting in setting accurate DC functions. I'm considering updating the FW in hopes this will solve this issue. Comments?
It may depend on where the Mate is getting its voltage readings, which in turn depends on what equipment is in the mix. If its just a Mate and inverter, then the battery voltage is reported from the inverter, and 48V inverters have 0.4V resolution. If an FNDC is included, the battery voltage is read from it at 0.1V resolution.
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by sbrownian »

raysun wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 3:45 pm
It may depend on where the Mate is getting its voltage readings, which in turn depends on what equipment is in the mix. If its just a Mate and inverter, then the battery voltage is reported from the inverter, and 48V inverters have 0.4V resolution. If an FNDC is included, the battery voltage is read from it at 0.1V resolution.
Ah!
/files tidbit away for future reference...
Ron J
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm
My RE system: GS8048A (Mini Grid mode), GSLC175-AC 120/240, 1200 AH flooded L.A. 48V single string forklift battery, 13KW PV, 3 Midnite Classics, 7KW Honda inverter generator.
Location: Manhattan KS

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by Ron J »

raysun wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 3:45 pm
Ron J wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:05 pm Hi gang! I have a Mate3 running FW 003.015.000 attached to a GS8048A. This setup is four years old and I'd like to get some advise regarding the granularity of the displayed DC voltages. The Mate displays DC voltages in .4 volt increments, vs. .1 volts. This makes it interesting in setting accurate DC functions. I'm considering updating the FW in hopes this will solve this issue. Comments?
It may depend on where the Mate is getting its voltage readings, which in turn depends on what equipment is in the mix. If its just a Mate and inverter, then the battery voltage is reported from the inverter, and 48V inverters have 0.4V resolution. If an FNDC is included, the battery voltage is read from it at 0.1V resolution.
Very interesting. FYI... I use external Midnite Classic charge controllers. If I were to install a FNDC unit (and HUB)for voltage sampling only, would that allow .1 volt resolution to be displayed on the Mate? Anything else I need to be aware of?
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4104
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by raysun »

Ron J wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 9:22 pm
raysun wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 3:45 pm
Ron J wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:05 pm Hi gang! I have a Mate3 running FW 003.015.000 attached to a GS8048A. This setup is four years old and I'd like to get some advise regarding the granularity of the displayed DC voltages. The Mate displays DC voltages in .4 volt increments, vs. .1 volts. This makes it interesting in setting accurate DC functions. I'm considering updating the FW in hopes this will solve this issue. Comments?
It may depend on where the Mate is getting its voltage readings, which in turn depends on what equipment is in the mix. If its just a Mate and inverter, then the battery voltage is reported from the inverter, and 48V inverters have 0.4V resolution. If an FNDC is included, the battery voltage is read from it at 0.1V resolution.
Very interesting. FYI... I use external Midnite Classic charge controllers. If I were to install a FNDC unit (and HUB)for voltage sampling only, would that allow .1 volt resolution to be displayed on the Mate? Anything else I need to be aware of?
Why would you spend all the $$$ on the equipment just to see 0.1 on the Mate?

What "DC functions" are you interested in implementing?
Ron J
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm
My RE system: GS8048A (Mini Grid mode), GSLC175-AC 120/240, 1200 AH flooded L.A. 48V single string forklift battery, 13KW PV, 3 Midnite Classics, 7KW Honda inverter generator.
Location: Manhattan KS

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by Ron J »

Specifically, the point at which recharging from the grid takes place when there's too many cloudy days. .4 volts can mean quite a difference regarding capacity when using voltage as the gauge for recharging, which the Radian uses without a FNDC. That's the reason for wanting to understand what my options are. :)
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4104
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by raysun »

Ron J wrote: Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:25 pm Specifically, the point at which recharging from the grid takes place when there's too many cloudy days. .4 volts can mean quite a difference regarding capacity when using voltage as the gauge for recharging, which the Radian uses without a FNDC. That's the reason for wanting to understand what my options are. :)
Yes, a decent battery monitor, especially a "coulomb counting" unit is essential to precise battery maintenance. Voltage is a poor metric, especially for lead acid batteries, because it varies so much with load.

The FNDC is an excellent battery monitor. Integrating it with the inverter and Mate will more than pay for it from the extended battery service life it can aid in fostering.
sbrownian
Forum Guru
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:23 am
My RE system: GS8048 FM80 FNDC Mate3
4kw solar
7kw Kubota propane gen
Had 1200 Ahr FLA Locomotive batts
Just replaced with
2 x 300 Ah ReLion Lithium packs
MUCH more efficient!!
Location: Central Washington State

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by sbrownian »

Dumb question...

Does the Radian series suffer from the same granularity issue?

I did quite a bit of searching after you brought up the .4 issue, and it seems to be directly related to the VX series, and what DC voltage they run.

12v = .1v; 24v = .2; 48v = .4 etc.

Must be a an A/D range issue, and they just put voltage dividers ahead of the converter...
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4104
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by raysun »

I don't know about the Radians.
sodamo
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: Mate3 .4 volt displayed DC granularity

Post by sodamo »

On my Radians the voltage settings on OpticsRe are .4 increments. Wish they were .1. Maybe I’ll remember to check directly on Mate3S.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com
Post Reply