Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

OutBack's newest innovation in balance-of-system components

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

Post Reply
stevetull
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:40 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 FM80, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
One array facing south at 30 degree tilt
One array facing southwest at 10 degree tilt
Total of 8kW
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
OpticRE: Paige cabin
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
Contact:

Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by stevetull »

My system is a FlexWare 500 with two FX3648s using Outback series stacking with X-240 autotransformer. My slave is reporting a fan failure and I've removed the aluminum covers and dust filters to verify and sure enough the fan's not blowing. I assume it'll need a repair. I'll call Outback to see what the repair procedure is. Hopefully that doesn't entail sending the unit in :(
I'm relatively handy as I built the FW500 "from scratch", so hopefully fan replacement, if that's what's needed can be accomplished on site.

Is it a simple matter to bypass the slave inverter for now? The only 240 volt load we have is the mini split air conditioner, and we can run on grid power if we want to turn it on. The capacity of one inverter at 3600 watts is more than enough to handle our loads.
Do I just accomplish bypassing the slave in the FX programming?

Thank you.

Steve in Texas
stevetull
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:40 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 FM80, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
One array facing south at 30 degree tilt
One array facing southwest at 10 degree tilt
Total of 8kW
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
OpticRE: Paige cabin
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
Contact:

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by stevetull »

Could it be as simple as not turning on the slave's 175 amp DC breaker and also the AC in to the slave?

Thank you.

Steve
sparksalot
Forum Guru
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:31 am
My RE system: FLEXpower TWO VFXR3648A Grid-Tied and Battery Backup Hybrid, Mate3s
Using Two Midnite 200 Classic Charge Controllers

Traction battery FLA 48 volt 805Ahr.

32 SolarWorld 245w mono, 2x-4S-4P
6 REC 320w on micro-inverters

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by sparksalot »

Simple as unplugging the offending inverter from the hub and then you will need to reboot the mate.
Reboot is accomplished by unplugging the mate for a few seconds and then pluggging only the mate back in.
You will see the mate do a flashing light show and it will not find the unplugged inverter and so it is forgotten.
User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by Kurt Lundquist »

Turn off the 175A DC battery breaker to the slave to shut it down. At this point all of your L2 loads will be via the transformer so try to keep it under 20 Amps.

You don't have to shut down the inverter for the fan failure. If it gets too hot it will de-rate output as necessary. If you are battery charging from an AC source it would be a good idea to point an external fan at the slave.

OB support can send you a fan kit with replacement instructions.

-Kurt
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/
stevetull
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:40 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 FM80, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
One array facing south at 30 degree tilt
One array facing southwest at 10 degree tilt
Total of 8kW
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
OpticRE: Paige cabin
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
Contact:

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by stevetull »

Thank you sparksalot, it couldn't be more simple.
Thank you Kurt, no need to run the slave right now. My inverters are 2005 models, kind of old, so I ordered a fan for each FX.

Steve
stevetull
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:40 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 FM80, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
One array facing south at 30 degree tilt
One array facing southwest at 10 degree tilt
Total of 8kW
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
OpticRE: Paige cabin
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
Contact:

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by stevetull »

Well I've ordered a couple fan kits from Outback since my inverters are 2005 models and I wanted to have a replacement in case the fan in the other inverter fails. The fans came in yesterday and I replaced the one, but unfortunately, the new fan still didn't operate. I tested the old fan and it seems to work fine.

I phoned up tech support and I was told it will either be the control board or the FET board or possibly the ribbon cable.

Since i don't want to keep buying parts until I find the solution, does anyone here have any experience with fan failure from faulty control board or FET board? How likely it would be one than the other? Your feedback would be much appreciated!

Thank you
sparksalot
Forum Guru
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:31 am
My RE system: FLEXpower TWO VFXR3648A Grid-Tied and Battery Backup Hybrid, Mate3s
Using Two Midnite 200 Classic Charge Controllers

Traction battery FLA 48 volt 805Ahr.

32 SolarWorld 245w mono, 2x-4S-4P
6 REC 320w on micro-inverters

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by sparksalot »

stevetull wrote:Well I've ordered a couple fan kits from Outback since my inverters are 2005 models and I wanted to have a replacement in case the fan in the other inverter fails. The fans came in yesterday and I replaced the one, but unfortunately, the new fan still didn't operate. I tested the old fan and it seems to work fine.

I phoned up tech support and I was told it will either be the control board or the FET board or possibly the ribbon cable.

Since i don't want to keep buying parts until I find the solution, does anyone here have any experience with fan failure from faulty control board or FET board? How likely it would be one than the other? Your feedback would be much appreciated!

Thank you
Since you have 2 of the same inverters and one works and one does Not work you may swap cards one at a time between the 2 inverters and very soon know which is the bad card. :smile:
stevetull
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:40 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 FM80, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
One array facing south at 30 degree tilt
One array facing southwest at 10 degree tilt
Total of 8kW
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
OpticRE: Paige cabin
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
Contact:

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by stevetull »

That's a brilliant idea.
Thank you sparksalot!

Steve
sparksalot
Forum Guru
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:31 am
My RE system: FLEXpower TWO VFXR3648A Grid-Tied and Battery Backup Hybrid, Mate3s
Using Two Midnite 200 Classic Charge Controllers

Traction battery FLA 48 volt 805Ahr.

32 SolarWorld 245w mono, 2x-4S-4P
6 REC 320w on micro-inverters

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by sparksalot »

You're very Welcome Steve!

Do report back with your discoveries.

DISCLAIMER
This should only be attempted if one knows and performs all electrical safety precautions for what is required to do such tasks.
Capacitors retain high voltages even after breakers have been switched to open.
When in doubt enlist the help of a pro.
stevetull
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:40 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 FM80, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
One array facing south at 30 degree tilt
One array facing southwest at 10 degree tilt
Total of 8kW
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
OpticRE: Paige cabin
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
Contact:

Re: Fan Failure on slave FX, want to bypass slave for now

Post by stevetull »

Well I started by swapping the ribbon cable and of course, it couldn't be that simple. I next swapped the control boards and put both inverters back together. Now the slave fan works and the inverter inverts. The master fan doesn't work, neither does the master inverter invert, so I phoned up Outback and ordered the replacement control board. Should be here Thursday.

At least this gives me the down time I need to relocate my array to the roof of the shop. I'm looking forward to an increase in production due to less shading, plus less loss due to much bigger wire and shorter distance.

Thank you sparksalot and Kurt for your help.
And thank you Outback tech support for your invaluable and patient staff.

Steve
Post Reply