adding 2nd system

OutBack's newest innovation in balance-of-system components

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

Post Reply
csteel
Forum Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:27 am
My RE system: Two separate systems one has 8 x Trojan T105, one has 16 x Trojan T105 otherwise both are FlexPower One 36/48 Flex max 80 15x235 Shott panels

adding 2nd system

Post by csteel »

I have a opportunity to add a second system to our solar power, it is the same unite, the Outback Flex Power One 1-2 as I have now. I would like to do this for three reasons; one to have redundancy if one system is down for any reason. Two; I have more solar panels (4230 watts 6 strings of 3 panels) on the Flex Max 80 than I should have. Three; currently there are three strings of 8 batteries and I would like to eliminate one string and still make use of all the batteries.
My plan is to move 2 strings of solar panels (1410 watts) and one string of 8 batteries to the second system, eventually adding more solar panels and one more string of batteries to the new system.
The power room will have 2 Mates, 2 Hub 4's and 2 Flex net DC's. Some concerns / questions I have is can the two systems communicate to each other using a Hub 10 or should they be isolated from each other. It may help to explain that I have two buildings and one has more power needs than the other.
While making these changes I would like to add separate fuses and a switch to the battery bank. I looked at Blue Sea equipment and was not sure if the switches and circuit breakers were correct ones to use. The items I considered are below, can I please get some opinions so I don't make errors. I have had my Outback system about a year and am very happy with Outback service and equipment This form has also been very helpful in the past and is a very good learning tool. Thanks Chuck

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/us ... mon+BusBar

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/us ... ery+Switch

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/us ... t+Breakers

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/us ... k+Terminal
HawaiianDrummer
Forum Guru
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:42 am
My RE system: 1-FM60's, 2-FM80's 2- FX3048's, Mate3, Hub 10, 12 US 64 w panels, 12 Kyocera
175 W panels, 21 Kyocera 225 W panels, 6 SimpliPhi 67 AH 48V. batteries for 402 AH Battery
bank, Flexnet DC and Optics RE
Location: Ninole, Hawaii

Re: adding 2nd system

Post by HawaiianDrummer »

Aloha, Chuck in reply to your question: questions I have is can the two systems communicate to each other using a Hub 10 or should they be isolated from each other. It may help to explain that I have two buildings and one has more power needs than the other. The two systems can communicate if you only use only one Mate. If the distance is to far to route wiring then keep one Mate on each system independently. David
csteel
Forum Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:27 am
My RE system: Two separate systems one has 8 x Trojan T105, one has 16 x Trojan T105 otherwise both are FlexPower One 36/48 Flex max 80 15x235 Shott panels

Re: adding 2nd system

Post by csteel »

Thanks David keeping one Mate on each system seems the best way to go, it's best to get things up and working normal before making any changes . Have you looked at the parts I am considering ? I am sure someone on this group has used some Blue Sea parts, I just want to be sure that they are up to the task. Asking someone who has used them is the best way for me to learn. Thanks again. Chuck. PS: this will be my 5th and 6th Outback install and still much to learn.
Post Reply