Getting red light for battery status

A place to post images and descriptions of your OutBack Power System

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

Post Reply
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

I'm getting a red light on the battery status of my inverter and losing power after only 2 hours on fully charged batteries. Brand new system. I didn't install it and my buddy who did can't get a hold of technical support to troubleshoot. FLEXpowerONE, FLEXmax 80, FLEXnet DC, MATE3
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

What is being used for a battery?
• Monoblock brand and model.
• The configuration of the battery.

How is it being determined the battery is fully charged?

What model inverter is on the FlexPower One panel?

The Mate status screens provide a good deal of information useful in troubleshooting.
• Post a picture of the main status screen.
• Press the soft key below the battery icon and post a picture of the status information there.

(Uploads to this forum are limited to about 1MB per file, so images may need cropping/resizing.)

Also, detailing the exact equipment list and models in your forum profile helps folks get a clearer, quicker, picture of the system. It helps when trying to answer questions. The info in the 1st post, in greater detail re.: Exact models of equipment on FP1 panel: Mate (3 or 3s), Inverter model, FM80 Charge Controller, FNDC; Battery model, configuration and capacity; Solar array panel models, capacity, and configuration; backup generator (list "No backup generator", if none); other equipment that may be installed with the system.
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

I have no idea, but will try and get those answers. I need a dummies troubleshooting guide. I am going to see if I can get my electrician buddy to answer these. Tried to do pics, but too large. Will try and make smaller and post. Seems like communication problem between the controller and inverter. Controller says battery is 99% and the inverter battery status doesn't.
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

Some pics.
Attachments
IMG_20200619_215537__01.jpg
IMG_20200620_082050_001__01.jpg
IMG_20200619_215547.jpg
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

Some more pics
Attachments
IMG_20200619_202912__01__01.jpg
IMG_20200619_215532__01.jpg
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

-Solar panels are Jinko 320watt 60 cell

-batteries are 12v 115 AH AGM hooked up in series

-inverter is a flexone 80 24volt 120v.

Anyone that wants to help me troubleshoot, feel free to call me at 313-574-4247.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

A couple of observations:

In the picture of the Mate home screen, the State of Charge shows 100%, battery voltage 22.4V and load of 1.6kW (1600 watts).

The low battery voltage may be caused by:
• the high load. At 1.6kW the battery is being drawn for approximately 70A.
• the battery not being fully charged, even though its indicated as such. The FLEXNet DC may need resetting/proper configuration.
• the equipment needs calibration. Voltages sensed by each piece of equipment are generally fairly accurate, but need to be checked to confirm.

The Battery consists of four 12V @ 115AH monoblocks.
Wired as a 24V battery the capacity is 230AH (Amp Hours). The 1.6kW load is drawing roughly 70AH, if this load is constant, it would draw the battery to zero charge in about 70 minutes. (The higher the draw on a battery, the less AH it can deliver. The 230AH rating is based on a draw over 20 hours so a bit more than 10A rate.)

The battery can store a maximum of 24V x 230AH = 5.5kWH (5500 Watt Hours) of electrical power. 50% is the maximum safe Depth of Discharge (DoD) for a lead acid battery, so the usable power is 2.75kWH. This is not a whole lot of power. (The average 10.5 cu ft refrigerator uses about 1.5kWH of power a day.)

Not knowing total loads in the house, it's speculation, but I'm speculating the battery may be too small for the power demands.

For now, turn off the AC OUT, and the AC OUTLET breakers, so the inverter is not feeding power to loads.

Permit the FM80 to complete a charge cycle to the Float state. Take pictures of the FM80 display panel now, when it reaches Absorb, and when it reaches Float. Note the time each was taken.
SandyP
Forum Guru
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:44 am
My RE system: 8 x 190W 24V Suntech panels (4 strings of 2) July 2011
4 x 325W 24V Suntech panels (2 strings of 2) added Sept2018
Mate2
Outback FM60 MPPT (max output lowered to 55amps)
12 x 2V Hoppecke GEL 612 Ah C24 - 24V System (June 2011)
Outback VFX3024 Inverter/Charger
Victron BMV-602s
Honda 5.5kW Genset
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by SandyP »

raysun wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:42 am ../..The FLEXNet DC may need resetting/proper configuration.
../..
For now, turn off the AC OUT, and the AC OUTLET breakers, so the inverter is not feeding power to loads.

Permit the FM80 to complete a charge cycle to the Float state. Take pictures of the FM80 display panel now, when it reaches Absorb, and when it reaches Float. Note the time each was taken.
Also disconnect the FlexNet DC.
-------------------------
http://spwebcam.myddns.me/
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

SandyP wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:52 am
raysun wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:42 am ../..The FLEXNet DC may need resetting/proper configuration.
../..
For now, turn off the AC OUT, and the AC OUTLET breakers, so the inverter is not feeding power to loads.

Permit the FM80 to complete a charge cycle to the Float state. Take pictures of the FM80 display panel now, when it reaches Absorb, and when it reaches Float. Note the time each was taken.
Also disconnect the FlexNet DC.
If the FNDC is not properly configured/calibrated, it may interfere with charging in certain circumstances. It can be disconnected (to simplify troubleshooting) by unplugging its communication cable from the Hub.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

dbarry09 wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 7:45 am Some more pics
Another oddity on the Mate display.

The SoC shows 99% and rising (up arrow) while there is a 1.6kW load, and no solar charging occurring.

There does not appear to be any other charging sources. Is this so?

Also, there is more battery status information. It can be seen by pressing the soft key underneath the battery icon at the bottom edge of the Mate display.

Get a picture of those data and post it.
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

This system is running our fifth wheel. Only thing drawing power was fridge and tv when it per off. I believe it is probably just a setting or parameters that need to be fixed. Just trying to figure that out. I will try to look into what you guys posted. This is beyond anything I know so bare with me.
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

dbarry09 wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 12:17 pm This system is running our fifth wheel. Only thing drawing power was fridge and tv when it per off. I believe it is probably just a setting or parameters that need to be fixed. Just trying to figure that out. I will try to look into what you guys posted. This is beyond anything I know so bare with me.
OK, but the load side doesn't really need configuring to report power that's being drawn.

Step #1: Shut off AC OUT circuit breaker.
Step #2: Shut off AC OUTLET circuit breaker.
Step #3: Disconnect FNDC by unplugging it from the HUB.

Step #4: Focus on FM80 Charge Controller
• Take a picture of the front panel display and post it.

Question: Does your fifth wheel have a "shore power" connection? Is it connected to the "house wiring" (fifth wheel AC wiring)?
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

Yes we do have shore power from a 30 amp outlet in the camper.

Before and after pics: Shut off AC OUT circuit breaker.
Step #2: Shut off AC OUTLET circuit breaker.
Step #3: Disconnect FNDC by unplugging it from the HUB
Attachments
IMG_20200620_180112__01.jpg
IMG_20200620_180446__01.jpg
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

Pics from pressing the soft button under the battery symbol.
Attachments
IMG_20200620_180941.jpg
IMG_20200620_180934.jpg
IMG_20200620_180929.jpg
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

OK Solar harvest and battery charging are occurring.

Now would be a good time to estimate state of charge. With AGM batteries, there are two methods: closed circuit current flow (this is what the FNDC does); and open circuit voltage.

Open circuit voltage is the measured with the battery disconnected from all loads (open circuit), and at rest for at least 24 hours. The measured voltage will then correlate with State of Charge (SoC). Measurements are best taken at 75° - 77°F ambient temperature. Using an accurate thermometer to measure when the air temperature is 75°F take a voltage reading across the battery + / - terminals and write it down.

While checking, mark each monoblock B1 - B4, then measure the voltage of each monoblock and write them down.

Post the results, and we can suggest the next step in commissioning the battery.

Has the 30A AC "Shore Power" been wired into the AC IN terminals of the Inverter?
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4591
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
REC Alpha 440W panels - 2 arrays: each of 4 strings of 2 in series
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by raysun »

So if it hasn't been done, the "shore power" should be routed through the AC IN of the Inverter. It has an internal transfer switch that will route shore power to AC OUT. Also, when shore power is available, the Inverter switches to Battery Charger. Shore power can power house loads, and optionally charge the battery.

The inverter battery charger will be an asset for those times when solar power is not sufficient, and now for helping to make sure the system is properly maintaining the battery.
Last edited by raysun on Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dbarry09
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:50 pm
My RE system: Flex power one

Re: Getting red light for battery status

Post by dbarry09 »

Raysun, thanks for helping. Anyway you can email me? Easier for me to communicate with you versus going to the forum. d.barry09@yahoo.com
Post Reply