FX noise/idle current

Discussion about the FX2000 Inverter
This forum has been closed

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

billvon
Forum Expert

FX noise/idle current

Post by billvon »

I've been using an SW2512 as a backup power system for a few months now, and I've had a few problems with it, primarily noise and idle current when left running all the time. The SW's silent mode with grid-usage timer doesn't seem to work well for grid interactive applications.

So:

Is the FX2000 line quieter than the SW inverters?

I note in the specs that it will draw 18-20 watts in idle; is there a way to have a "silent time" (say, at night) where the inverter will remain off unless power goes out?
rid

FX noise/idle current

Post by rid »

Bill,

Outback inverters make no noise. They are true sinewave.

It's hard to hear the FAN when it turns on ( Seal inverters ).
The SW's have a high metalic noise and are not true sinewave.

Idle power is something else.
Christopher

FX noise/idle current

Post by Christopher »

Yes - the OutBack inverter/chargers are much quieter than the SW series - both the sealed (FX) and vented (VFX) models.

The vented unit does make some fan noise when it is running larger loads or charging hard - but it is still much quieter than the SW.

The SW uses two fans which "beat" in and out of sync with each other and has a steel sheet metal chassis which vibrates from the magnetic fields of the transformers.

The OutBack inverters use a single fan and have a aluminum die casting instead of sheet metal. No beating or vibration during operation.

The OutBack also has a "silent" mode built in which turns off the charger once the battery is full - and this system is also coordinated with our grid-tie system. This eliminates the noise and performance losses common in grid-tied SW based systems which stay on all night long wasting power.